Wow, much Homestar Runner, so LOL

Nothing fills me with as much pure nostalic joy as Homestar Runner. When I was in sixth grade, the Brothers Chaps exploded on the scene with this webtoon called Homestar Runner – this was in 2001, before Youtube or Twitter or Facebook even existed. They made their cartoons in flash and hosted them independently on their website, which was funded by merchandise sales instead of advertising. The golden days of the internet, right? I digress.

The websites feature the exploits of a lovable cast of a lovable cast of cartoon misfits.

There’s Homestar Runner, the dimwitted athlete:

Strongbad, his Mexican boxer-dress nemesis, who specializes in snarky email responses:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.44.56 PM

The Cheat, who I think doesn’t need an introduction:

And so many others (they’re all pictured near the top). This website has toons, games, downloads, and tons of easter eggs hidden throughout.

This was my favorite Strongbad email: There’s an amazing jab to college radio (my true love), and I hate to say he’s totally right.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.42.45 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.42.51 PM

Video here:

And, the reason for the season (and the awful title of this post): DOGE!

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.37.05 PM Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.37.24 PMDOGE comes from this cartoon, where Homestar refers to Strongbad as his d-o-g-e. How that got linked to Shiba Inus beats me.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.35.57 PM

Strongbad’s emails showed technological advances with his computer changing every couple years.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 7.10.52 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.36.38 PM

Homestar Runner is also where TROGDORRR! comes from. Find any nerd and ask him or her, they’ll recognize that name immediately.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.44.40 PM

Each character has their own personals-type video. My favorite is Strongbad’s. I think he was always my favorite. Wow, such sarcasm.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.44.56 PM

Teen Girls squad was also from these creators. This website was my favorite thing in the entire world for several years, but then they started posting less and less (I mean, 10+ years on the internet is doing pretty well), and moved on to other jobs.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.45.33 PM Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.47.18 PM

It was such a big deal to me (and the world, let’s be real, millions of hits a month can’t lie) that when I meet people who haven’t heard of it, I’m shocked. They were  featured in WiredNational ReviewEntertainment WeeklyTotal GamerG4, and NPR‘s All Things ConsideredSo, spread the word! Let’s have a resurgence!

Or not, maybe they’ll be my secret forever. I think this year for Halloween I’ll be Marzipan and see who picks up on it. New best friends.

Leave a Reply

