Twilight Criterium and Alpacas

Ryan and I just got back from spending the whole weekend in Athens! We started out Saturday morning going to a brunch birthday party for a few of my friends, back in the woods and by a creek. IMG_1049I got this great panorama, but Forrest moved and got a little squished-looking. From the birthday celebrating, we walked to the new brewery downtown, Creature Comforts, to try their new brews and see The Darnell Boys play—it was HOT, but so much fun! I’m super sunburnt. 

I definitely recommend the Athena beer if you make it to Creature Comforts soon. There were also some food tables from local fancy restaurants, and I had Persian lamb kebobs as a snack. IMG_1072

Stopped by Copper Creek Brewery for some fries and bike watching. IMG_1077

Last year for Twilight I found myself in the second story of a downtown apartment, and was able to watch the races there. It was amazing, so I walked up to to the same building last night and saw some dudes sitting with their legs hanging out of the window. “Hey, guys!” I yelled. “I forgot the code to get up there, can you let me in?” They jumped up and ran down to let us in, with Ryan and Dana and Daniel looking at me like ARE YOU CRAZY. We get in and don’t know a single person, but have amazing seats for Twilight! Ryan was uncomfortable being in a stranger’s place, so we scooted next door to a place where we did know people and had a much better time. Sitting on the roof in the cool air with my friends was so nice.

IMG_1091

Ended the night by dancing at Little Kings (DJ Mahogany forever) and then late night BBQ.

We had brunch this morning at Mirna’s with the doors and windows open, the curtains blowing in the breeze. Fresh egg scrambles with crepes and bacon, and then cookies to follow.


Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

And then today, we went to Sweet Olive Farm with the Recipe for Press crew. It. Was. Amazing. Sweet Olive is a rescue farm in Winterville, run by Susan and Kat. They have 25 alpacas and a myriad of other animals, like donkeys, pot-belly pigs, dogs, geese, ducks, chickens, and probably more animals I’m forgetting. They rent out their lovely barn for weddings, and the house/back cottage is amazing. I couldn’t stop taking pictures.
IMG_1178
IMG_1115 IMG_1116

I think this particular pig’s name is Hershel. Go dawgs!IMG_1119 IMG_1123 IMG_1127 IMG_1139 IMG_1141 IMG_1143

The interior of the barn was everything that Anthropologie is trying to be. This farm is where they get their inspiration, I bet you! IMG_1145 IMG_1151

At brunch today we were trying to decide which animals have a good sense of humor. I think alpacas must, I mean, I mean, look at them!
IMG_1153 IMG_1154 IMG_1158 IMG_1160

Every inch of the house was divine and curated. The interior spaces were lovely. IMG_1162

This claw foot tub was so amazing, I’m jealous and I want it. IMG_1166 IMG_1170 IMG_1173
IMG_1182

We loved all of Susan and Kat’s stories they told while giving us the tour—how they used to rescue dogs in Atlanta but kept getting in trouble with the neighbors, how they moved the barn from one place to another, and the origins of all of their sassy little pigs.IMG_1188 IMG_1190

This cottage will be listed on AirBNB soon! I’m going to be first in line to stay the night. Most of the back of the tiny house is a screened in dining room. My dream life would be to wake up with the sun shining through and have breakfast out there. IMG_1192 IMG_1196

I was more terrified of the alpacas than I thought I would be—I was super excited and the first to step into the pen, but when the animals came up to me I was so startled. The donkey was following us around all over the pen.IMG_1200

They had some amazing raised beds with planted vegetables and herbs. Ryan and I decided to get our ish together and start planting in the raised beds at his house. I can’t garden, I kill everything I touch. But every year I try!IMG_1201 Barn1

Leave a Reply

